GDPR Compliance Review

Clients Rate Lawyers on our Platform 4.9/5 Stars
based on 3,949 reviews

Jump to Section

Need help with GDPR Compliance?

Post Project Now

Post Your Project (It's Free)

Get Bids to Compare

 Hire Your Lawyer

A GDPR compliance review is a process which helps closely analyze the areas where the company might be conducting a breach of rules and regulations. This review is conducted in areas where the company might be Breaking the GDPR requirements and entering into a breach. Organizations must consider conducting a GDPR compliance review frequently to ensure that their employees' data is safe and secure. It is not only a way of avoiding legal compilation but also helps ensure employee satisfaction and the company's well-being.

What is GDPR compliance review and why conduct it?

A GDPR compliance review checks the company's operation and analyzes the areas that may have risk. In this review, individual sections are checked upon in greater detail to ensure that the company is not making any errors in following the requirements set within the GDPR guidelines. Moreover, this system also helps provide recommendations or guidelines on how the errors can be minimized, regulated or completely omitted. With the help of these necessary changes, the company shall be free of any legal complications.

How is a GDPR compliance review conducted?

Hiring an experienced lawyer to conduct a GDPR compliance review helps ensure that all requirements are thoroughly checked and that no section is missed. It is a rigorous process which might involve -

  • The lawyer created several questionnaires the employees must complete with complete honesty.
  • Conducting proper and in-depth reviews with staff members and employees in the targeted sectors to understand where the company is lacking.
  • Per the guidelines, an inspection within the office premises ensures everything is in order.
  • Checking and verifying the company documents, as per the current guidelines.

With the help of the data collected during these processes, a lawyer can determine whether or not there is a breach within the company.

Meet some lawyers on our platform

Matthew S.

2 projects on CC
View Profile

Wendy C.

1 project on CC
View Profile

Todd H.

2 projects on CC
View Profile

Justin K.

3 projects on CC
View Profile

Understanding the GDPR compliance review

Even while hiring a lawyer, companies, too, must be aware of what is meant by a GDPR compliance review. Here is a detailed checklist that the companies must keep in mind during this process to ensure that everything is in check -

Raising awareness among the employees

The GDPR guidelines require the company to inform its employees about their rights. The company must conduct regular awareness training programs to educate the employees about data protection and offer them security. With the help of employees, company officials can understand better where they are lacking in offering securities. For instance, controlling access points within the company premises and permitting entry to employees only can help maintain their security. Another step to offer security can be providing employees with physical security as they carry office devices in and out of the office to prevent data leakage.

Maintaining records of the database

Maintenance of records and database of employees' profiles as well as of the customers is necessary. It is not only meant for contacting employees or customers in the future but also is necessary for recording data in case of emergencies or legal actions in the future. However, this information is private and sensitive. There must be a proper system to collect and store data, making it easier to track. Moreover, the company must only ask for and store data that is relevant to them or might be necessary for the future. Company officials must ensure that no private data is demanded if it is not necessary.

Check and update the privacy policies

Every company has their policies, especially when it comes to protecting the identity and information of its employees. However, the company officials must check whether their policies fall within the GDPR requirements and follow the current guidelines. For instance, per the GDPR guidelines, the company cannot demand any private information from the employees if it is not necessary. Moreover, the company must also destroy the data once its requirement is over. Companies must ensure that all the data they collect is legal and per the country's laws.

Ensure that employees can practice their rights

Every company must be transparent and cooperative with their employees while collecting their personal data. As per the GDPR guidelines, the company must inform their employees why they need the particular data. The employees have the exclusive right over their data and can demand the company to destroy it once their requirement is over. Moreover, the employee also has the right to ask questions about the process. The company must address all employees' concerns and answer their queries patiently.

Control the data processing method

For data processing within the company, a proper protocol must be maintained to ensure no data leak. For this, the company must use proper software and technologies to protect their employees' and customers' sensitive and private information. For instance, companies often use cloud-based services to record, store, and maintain data online. The companies must ensure that the services are paid for at regular intervals. Further, if any update is required, the company must do it on a priority basis. During the GDPR compliance review, a proper check system must also be established based on which only authorized personnel can access the data.

Update the existing data in a systematic manner

For data processing within the company, the proper protocol must be maintained to ensure no data leak. For this, the company must use proper software and technologies to protect their employees' and customers' sensitive and private information. For instance, companies often use cloud-based services to record, store, and maintain data online. The companies must ensure that the services are paid for at regular intervals. Further, if any update is required, the company must do it on a priority basis. During a GDPR compliance review, the data stored by the company is also analyzed closely to ensure that no necessary data is stored by the company that contains sensitive information.

Key Terms

  • GDPR - It stands for General Data Protection Regulation. Under this, there are several guidelines issued by the government that companies must follow to protect the data of their employees.
  • GDPR compliance review - It is a process conducted by the company to ensure that they meet the current guidelines set by the government.

Conclusion

Following the GDPR requirements is mandatory for every company in the US. If a company fails to address these rules, it might face legal complications and actions from its employees. Hire an expert lawyer from ContractsCounsel to help you conduct a GDPR compliance report and ensure that your company meets the current rules and regulations set by the government.

How ContractsCounsel Works
Hiring a lawyer on ContractsCounsel is easy, transparent and affordable.
1. Post a Free Project
Complete our 4-step process to provide info on what you need done.
2. Get Bids to Review
Receive flat-fee bids from lawyers in our marketplace to compare.
3. Start Your Project
Securely pay to start working with the lawyer you select.

Meet some of our Lawyers

Jo Ann J. on ContractsCounsel
View Jo Ann
5.0 (6)
Member Since:
February 22, 2021

Jo Ann J.

Partner
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Boston, MA
27 Yrs Experience
Licensed in MA
Suffolk Universtiy Law School

Jo Ann has been practicing for over 20 years, working primarily with high growth companies from inception through exit and all points in between. She is skilled in Mergers & Acquisitions, Contractual Agreements (including founders agreements, voting agreements, licensing agreements, terms of service, privacy policies, stockholder agreements, operating agreements, equity incentive plans, employment agreements, vendor agreements and other commercial agreements), Corporate Governance and Due Diligence.

Don G. on ContractsCounsel
View Don
5.0 (9)
Member Since:
March 1, 2021

Don G.

Attorney at law
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Lafayette, LA
22 Yrs Experience
Licensed in TX
Texas Tech School of Law

Texas licensed attorney specializing for 20 years in Business and Contract law. My services include General Business Law Advisement; Contract Review and Drafting; Legal Research and Writing, including Motion Practice; Business Formation; Article or Instructive Writing; and more. For more insight into my skills and experience, please feel free to visit my LinkedIn profile or contact me with any questions.

Benjamin W. on ContractsCounsel
View Benjamin
5.0 (25)
Member Since:
March 11, 2021

Benjamin W.

Founder
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Los Angeles, CA
8 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA
UCLA School of Law

I am a California-barred attorney specializing in business contracting needs. My areas of expertise include contract law, corporate formation, employment law, including independent contractor compliance, regulatory compliance and licensing, and general corporate law. I truly enjoy getting to know my clients, whether they are big businesses, small start-ups looking to launch, or individuals needing legal guidance. Some of my recent projects include: -drafting business purchase and sale agreements -drafting independent contractor agreements -creating influencer agreements -creating compliance policies and procedures for businesses in highly regulated industries -drafting service contracts -advising on CA legality of hiring gig workers including effects of Prop 22 and AB5 -forming LLCs -drafting terms of service and privacy policies -reviewing employment contracts I received my JD from UCLA School of Law and have been practicing for over five years in this area. I’m an avid reader and writer and believe those skills have served me well in my practice. I also complete continuing education courses regularly to ensure I am up-to-date on best practices for my clients. I pride myself on providing useful and accurate legal advice without complex and confusing jargon. I look forward to learning about your specific needs and helping you to accomplish your goals. Please reach out to learn more about my process and see if we are a good fit!

Rebecca L. on ContractsCounsel
View Rebecca
5.0 (1)
Member Since:
April 6, 2021

Rebecca L.

Attorney/Owner
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
San Diego, CA
12 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA, DC, VA
New England School of Law

I absolutely love helping my clients buy their first home, sell their starters, upgrade to their next big adventure, or transition to their next phase of life. The confidence my clients have going into a transaction and through the whole process is one of the most rewarding aspects of practicing this type of law. My very first class in law school was property law, and let me tell you, this was like nothing I’d ever experienced. I remember vividly cracking open that big red book and staring at the pages not having the faintest idea what I was actually reading. Despite those initial scary moments, I grew to love property law. My obsession with real estate law was solidified when I was working in Virginia at a law firm outside DC. I ran the settlement (escrow) department and learned the ins and outs of transactions and the unique needs of the parties. My husband and I bought our first home in Virginia in 2012 and despite being an attorney, there was so much we didn’t know, especially when it came to our HOA and our mortgage. Our real estate agent was a wonderful resource for finding our home and negotiating some of the key terms, but there was something missing in the process. I’ve spent the last 10 years helping those who were in the same situation we were in better understand the process.

Jeremiah C. on ContractsCounsel
View Jeremiah
4.9 (18)
Member Since:
March 5, 2021

Jeremiah C.

Partner/Attorney at Law
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Houston, TX
15 Yrs Experience
Licensed in NV, TX
Thomas Jefferson

Creative, results driven business & technology executive with 24 years of experience (13+ as a business/corporate lawyer). A problem solver with a passion for business, technology, and law. I bring a thorough understanding of the intersection of the law and business needs to any endeavor, having founded multiple startups myself with successful exits. I provide professional business and legal consulting. Throughout my career I've represented a number large corporations (including some of the top Fortune 500 companies) but the vast majority of my clients these days are startups and small businesses. Having represented hundreds of successful crowdfunded startups, I'm one of the most well known attorneys for startups seeking CF funds. My engagements often include legal consultation & advisory roles, drafting of NDAs, TOS & Privacy Policies, contracts and corporate law, business strategy advice & consulting, in-house counsel, Founder & entrepreneur guidance and other roles as needed by my clients. I hold a Juris Doctor degree with a focus on Business/Corporate Law, a Master of Business Administration degree in Entrepreneurship, A Master of Education degree and dual Bachelor of Science degrees. I look forward to working with any parties that have a need for my skill sets.

Meghan P. on ContractsCounsel
View Meghan
4.8 (5)
Member Since:
February 15, 2021

Meghan P.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Denver
5 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA
University of Dayton

I am a licensed attorney and a member of the California Bar. I graduated from the University of Dayton School of Law's Program in Law and Technology. I love IP, tech transfers, licensing, and how the internet and developing technology is changing the legal landscape. I've interned at both corporations and boutique firms, and I've taken extensive specialized classes in intellectual property and technology law.

Charlotte L. on ContractsCounsel
View Charlotte
4.6 (2)
Member Since:
February 25, 2021

Charlotte L.

Self-Employed Legal Consultant
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Arlington, VA
9 Yrs Experience
Licensed in DC, VA
University of Virginia School of Law

I hold a B.S. in Accounting and a B.A. in Philosophy from Virginia Tech (2009). I received my J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law in 2012. I am an associate member of the Virginia Bar and an active member of the DC bar. Currently, I am working as a self-employed legal consultant and attorney. Primarily my clients are start-up companies for which I perform various types of legal work, including negotiating and drafting settlement, preparing operating agreements and partnership agreements, assisting in moving companies to incorporate in new states and setting up companies to become registered in a state, assisting with employment matters, drafting non-disclosure agreements, assisting with private placement offerings, and researching issues on intellectual property, local regulations, privacy laws, corporate governance, and many other facets of the law, as the need arises. I have previously practiced as an attorney at a small DC securities law firm and worked at Deloitte Financial Advisory Services LLC. My work experience is dynamic and includes many short-term and long term experience that span across areas such as maintaining my own blog, freelance writing, and dog walking. My diverse background has provided me with a stong skill set that can be easily adapted for new areas of work and indicates my ability to quickly learn for a wide array of clients.

Adam B. on ContractsCounsel
View Adam
Member Since:
March 5, 2021

Adam B.

Managing Partner
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
San Mateo, California
25 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA
McGeorge School of Law

Seasoned technology lawyer with 22+ years of experience working with the hottest start-ups through IPO and Fortune 50. My focus is primarily technology transactions with an emphasis on SaaS and Privacy, but I also provide GC services for more active clients.

Ema T. on ContractsCounsel
View Ema
Member Since:
March 12, 2021

Ema T.

Contract and IP Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
New York, NY
5 Yrs Experience
Licensed in NY
Chicago Kent

I am a NY licensed attorney experienced in business contracts, agreements, waivers and more, corporate law, and trademark registration. My office is a sole member Law firm therefore, I Take pride in giving every client my direct attention and focus. I focus on getting the job done fast while maintaining high standards.

David B. on ContractsCounsel
View David
Member Since:
April 1, 2021

David B.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Trussville, Alabama
27 Yrs Experience
Licensed in AL
Birmingham School of Law

A twenty-five year attorney and certified mediator native to the Birmingham, Alabama area.

Samantha B. on ContractsCounsel
View Samantha
Member Since:
April 15, 2021

Samantha B.

Principal and Founder
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Chicago
9 Yrs Experience
Licensed in FL, IL
Ave Maria School of Law

Samantha has focused her career on developing and implementing customized compliance programs for SEC, CFTC, and FINRA regulated organizations. She has worked with over 100 investment advisers, alternative asset managers (private equity funds, hedge funds, real estate funds, venture capital funds, etc.), and broker-dealers, with assets under management ranging from several hundred million to several billion dollars. Samantha has held roles such as Chief Compliance Officer and Interim Chief Compliance Officer for SEC-registered investment advisory firms, “Of Counsel” for law firms, and has worked for various securities compliance consulting firms. Samantha founded Coast to Coast Compliance to make a meaningful impact on clients’ businesses overall, by enhancing or otherwise creating an exceptional and customized compliance program and cultivating a strong culture of compliance. Coast to Coast Compliance provides proactive, comprehensive, and independent compliance solutions, focusing primarily on project-based deliverables and various ongoing compliance pain points for investment advisers, broker-dealers, and other financial services firms.

Find the best lawyer for your project

Browse Lawyers Now

Want to speak to someone?

Get in touch below and we will schedule a time to connect!

Request a call