Prenuptial Agreement Review

Clients Rate Lawyers on our Platform 4.9/5 Stars
based on 4,009 reviews

Jump to Section

Need help with a Prenuptial Agreement?

CREATE A FREE PROJECT POSTING
Post Project Now

What Is a Prenuptial Agreement Review?

Before marriage, a prenuptial agreement, also known as a premarital agreement or simply “prenup,” helps couples divide assets, establish property rights, designate child support, and have an uncontested divorce.

Although no couple plans to divorce when they marry, anything can happen, and it can pay to be prepared. Planning your married life together can include discussing what happens if you and your spouse decide to separate.

A prenuptial agreement helps you and your partner avoid unnecessary, painful conflict by arranging divorce terms that you agree upon now when you are both in good standing.

It is important to note that a prenuptial agreement is not the same as a post-nuptial or separation agreement. Prenups are signed before marrying, and separation agreements are signed after a couple agrees to divorce legally.

Here is an article that defines prenuptial agreement and explains its importance when dealing with financial issues after divorce.

What are the Pros and Cons of a Prenuptial Agreement?

Many couples adopt an almost superstitious approach to signing a prenuptial agreement. They believe that by doing so, they’re expressing doubt about the strength of their relationship or trust in their partner. However, even the happiest couples can decide they are no longer as happy together as they once were.

Divorce can be a mutual and even amicable decision. As such, prenuptial agreements allow couples to extend love and care toward one another so they do not face more stress, arguments, and duress during a separation.

Here are some of the pros and cons of signing a prenuptial agreement:

Pros of a Prenuptial Agreement

  • Clear division of assets. This agreement can help couples separate their assets, such as businesses, real estate, and even pets. While many divorcing couples may fight over property rights, a prenuptial agreement can enforce automatic property rights that make separation easier.
  • Protect children. You can arrange child support and custody in a prenup without going through the court. It can also help ensure that children receive assets their parent wants them to have, rather than automatically transferring them to a spouse in the event of death.
  • Lower the cost of a divorce. While the average prenuptial agreement cost is several hundred dollars, a divorce without a prenup can cost several thousand. Between lawyer fees, alimony, and settlement costs, leaving a marriage can be far more expensive than entering one.

Cons of a Prenuptial Agreement

  • It can negatively affect a partner's feelings. One party may feel hurt by the other’s request to sign a prenuptial agreement. They may feel their fiancé does not trust them or believe their marriage will end in the future.
  • It can lead to disagreements before marriage. Deciding who keeps what in a divorce can lead to conflict among couples, especially if they have differing opinions about each other’s rights. In some cases, prenups may favor one spouse’s financial security if they enter the relationship with more money and other assets.
  • This may lead to unpleasant thoughts before the wedding. Couples planning to wed are filled with excitement and joy about their future. The last thing they want to discuss is what happens if they no longer wish to be married. Many couples avoid premarital agreements because they create negative emotions.

Here is an article with more pros and cons of a prenup to consider.

Can a Prenuptial Agreement Be Broken?

Prenups are valid, legally binding contracts between married partners. However, you can mutually dissolve your agreement together. You can also nullify or void a prenup by contesting it with a lawyer if terms are illegal in your state or unconscionable by law.

Unconscionable in legal terms refers to arrangements in a contract that are imbalanced or oppressive to one party. For example, sometimes, a prenup may deny a partner alimony they are legally entitled to or waive a person’s requirement to pay child support. In these cases, the court may find the document invalid and unlawful, so they void it in court.

Here is an article that covers five reasons why a prenup may be considered invalid.

What Percentage of Married Couples Get a Prenuptial Agreement?

Nearly half of American couples divorce and recent data shows that prenups are increasingly popular among adults in their 20s and 30s. A survey of divorce attorneys by the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers found that premarital agreements have risen by 62% in recent years.

Here is an article that explores why more couples are getting prenups and how having one could benefit your relationship.

Meet some lawyers on our platform

Zachary J.

52 projects on CC
View Profile

Kristen R.

40 projects on CC
View Profile

Todd H.

2 projects on CC
View Profile

Don G.

27 projects on CC
View Profile

Who Can Review a Prenuptial Agreement?

An estate planning attorney or business or contract lawyer could help you draft and review a prenuptial agreement. These professionals all know how to write valid legal documents that protect both partners' best interests and legal rights.

Ultimately, their goal is to help you enter a stronger union with a more profound respect for one another. Signing a prenup can build more trust by showing you both have no desire to do the other harm through separation or divorce.

Here is an article with ContractsCounsel’s guide on finding the best lawyer for your prenuptial agreement review.

Why Should You Get a Prenuptial Agreement Reviewed?

Although you can write a prenup yourself, a lawyer is the only one who can review it and deem it legally valid. Therefore, ensuring that your premarital agreement respects all of the marriage and divorce laws in your governing state is important.

Even if both parties agree to the terms and conditions of an agreement, it may not be legally enforceable if it does not comply with their state’s regulations.

Working with an attorney ensures your prenup is valid.

Here is an article with more information on how to write a prenup.

How Do You Validate a Prenuptial Agreement?

Both parties must write, sign, and date a prenuptial agreement. No states recognize oral prenups as valid. Both parties must have also fully detailed and revealed their financial assets and liabilities in the document.

A lawyer can review the signing of your prenup and keep a copy on file in their firm. Besides being mutually agreed upon, the most important requirement is having all of your assets laid out in detail. Hiding information in an agreement could cause it to be nullified in a future divorce.

Here is an article with everything you need to know about planning for a prenup.

Post a project in ContractsCounsel’s marketplace to receive flat fee bids from lawyers for your project. All lawyers have been vetted by our team and peer-reviewed by our customers for you to explore before hiring.

How ContractsCounsel Works
Hiring a lawyer on ContractsCounsel is easy, transparent and affordable.
1. Post a Free Project
Complete our 4-step process to provide info on what you need done.
2. Get Bids to Review
Receive flat-fee bids from lawyers in our marketplace to compare.
3. Start Your Project
Securely pay to start working with the lawyer you select.

Meet some of our Lawyers

Jo Ann J. on ContractsCounsel
View Jo Ann
5.0 (6)
Member Since:
February 22, 2021

Jo Ann J.

Partner
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Boston, MA
27 Yrs Experience
Licensed in MA
Suffolk Universtiy Law School

Jo Ann has been practicing for over 20 years, working primarily with high growth companies from inception through exit and all points in between. She is skilled in Mergers & Acquisitions, Contractual Agreements (including founders agreements, voting agreements, licensing agreements, terms of service, privacy policies, stockholder agreements, operating agreements, equity incentive plans, employment agreements, vendor agreements and other commercial agreements), Corporate Governance and Due Diligence.

Don G. on ContractsCounsel
View Don
5.0 (9)
Member Since:
March 1, 2021

Don G.

Attorney at law
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Lafayette, LA
22 Yrs Experience
Licensed in TX
Texas Tech School of Law

Texas licensed attorney specializing for 20 years in Business and Contract law. My services include General Business Law Advisement; Contract Review and Drafting; Legal Research and Writing, including Motion Practice; Business Formation; Article or Instructive Writing; and more. For more insight into my skills and experience, please feel free to visit my LinkedIn profile or contact me with any questions.

Benjamin W. on ContractsCounsel
View Benjamin
5.0 (25)
Member Since:
March 11, 2021

Benjamin W.

Founder
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Los Angeles, CA
8 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA
UCLA School of Law

I am a California-barred attorney specializing in business contracting needs. My areas of expertise include contract law, corporate formation, employment law, including independent contractor compliance, regulatory compliance and licensing, and general corporate law. I truly enjoy getting to know my clients, whether they are big businesses, small start-ups looking to launch, or individuals needing legal guidance. Some of my recent projects include: -drafting business purchase and sale agreements -drafting independent contractor agreements -creating influencer agreements -creating compliance policies and procedures for businesses in highly regulated industries -drafting service contracts -advising on CA legality of hiring gig workers including effects of Prop 22 and AB5 -forming LLCs -drafting terms of service and privacy policies -reviewing employment contracts I received my JD from UCLA School of Law and have been practicing for over five years in this area. I’m an avid reader and writer and believe those skills have served me well in my practice. I also complete continuing education courses regularly to ensure I am up-to-date on best practices for my clients. I pride myself on providing useful and accurate legal advice without complex and confusing jargon. I look forward to learning about your specific needs and helping you to accomplish your goals. Please reach out to learn more about my process and see if we are a good fit!

Rebecca L. on ContractsCounsel
View Rebecca
5.0 (1)
Member Since:
April 6, 2021

Rebecca L.

Attorney/Owner
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
San Diego, CA
12 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA, DC, VA
New England School of Law

I absolutely love helping my clients buy their first home, sell their starters, upgrade to their next big adventure, or transition to their next phase of life. The confidence my clients have going into a transaction and through the whole process is one of the most rewarding aspects of practicing this type of law. My very first class in law school was property law, and let me tell you, this was like nothing I’d ever experienced. I remember vividly cracking open that big red book and staring at the pages not having the faintest idea what I was actually reading. Despite those initial scary moments, I grew to love property law. My obsession with real estate law was solidified when I was working in Virginia at a law firm outside DC. I ran the settlement (escrow) department and learned the ins and outs of transactions and the unique needs of the parties. My husband and I bought our first home in Virginia in 2012 and despite being an attorney, there was so much we didn’t know, especially when it came to our HOA and our mortgage. Our real estate agent was a wonderful resource for finding our home and negotiating some of the key terms, but there was something missing in the process. I’ve spent the last 10 years helping those who were in the same situation we were in better understand the process.

Jeremiah C. on ContractsCounsel
View Jeremiah
4.9 (18)
Member Since:
March 5, 2021

Jeremiah C.

Partner/Attorney at Law
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Houston, TX
15 Yrs Experience
Licensed in NV, TX
Thomas Jefferson

Creative, results driven business & technology executive with 24 years of experience (13+ as a business/corporate lawyer). A problem solver with a passion for business, technology, and law. I bring a thorough understanding of the intersection of the law and business needs to any endeavor, having founded multiple startups myself with successful exits. I provide professional business and legal consulting. Throughout my career I've represented a number large corporations (including some of the top Fortune 500 companies) but the vast majority of my clients these days are startups and small businesses. Having represented hundreds of successful crowdfunded startups, I'm one of the most well known attorneys for startups seeking CF funds. My engagements often include legal consultation & advisory roles, drafting of NDAs, TOS & Privacy Policies, contracts and corporate law, business strategy advice & consulting, in-house counsel, Founder & entrepreneur guidance and other roles as needed by my clients. I hold a Juris Doctor degree with a focus on Business/Corporate Law, a Master of Business Administration degree in Entrepreneurship, A Master of Education degree and dual Bachelor of Science degrees. I look forward to working with any parties that have a need for my skill sets.

Meghan P. on ContractsCounsel
View Meghan
4.8 (5)
Member Since:
February 15, 2021

Meghan P.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Denver
5 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA
University of Dayton

I am a licensed attorney and a member of the California Bar. I graduated from the University of Dayton School of Law's Program in Law and Technology. I love IP, tech transfers, licensing, and how the internet and developing technology is changing the legal landscape. I've interned at both corporations and boutique firms, and I've taken extensive specialized classes in intellectual property and technology law.

Charlotte L. on ContractsCounsel
View Charlotte
4.6 (2)
Member Since:
February 25, 2021

Charlotte L.

Self-Employed Legal Consultant
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Arlington, VA
9 Yrs Experience
Licensed in DC, VA
University of Virginia School of Law

I hold a B.S. in Accounting and a B.A. in Philosophy from Virginia Tech (2009). I received my J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law in 2012. I am an associate member of the Virginia Bar and an active member of the DC bar. Currently, I am working as a self-employed legal consultant and attorney. Primarily my clients are start-up companies for which I perform various types of legal work, including negotiating and drafting settlement, preparing operating agreements and partnership agreements, assisting in moving companies to incorporate in new states and setting up companies to become registered in a state, assisting with employment matters, drafting non-disclosure agreements, assisting with private placement offerings, and researching issues on intellectual property, local regulations, privacy laws, corporate governance, and many other facets of the law, as the need arises. I have previously practiced as an attorney at a small DC securities law firm and worked at Deloitte Financial Advisory Services LLC. My work experience is dynamic and includes many short-term and long term experience that span across areas such as maintaining my own blog, freelance writing, and dog walking. My diverse background has provided me with a stong skill set that can be easily adapted for new areas of work and indicates my ability to quickly learn for a wide array of clients.

Adam B. on ContractsCounsel
View Adam
Member Since:
March 5, 2021

Adam B.

Managing Partner
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
San Mateo, California
25 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CA
McGeorge School of Law

Seasoned technology lawyer with 22+ years of experience working with the hottest start-ups through IPO and Fortune 50. My focus is primarily technology transactions with an emphasis on SaaS and Privacy, but I also provide GC services for more active clients.

Ema T. on ContractsCounsel
View Ema
Member Since:
March 12, 2021

Ema T.

Contract and IP Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
New York, NY
5 Yrs Experience
Licensed in NY
Chicago Kent

I am a NY licensed attorney experienced in business contracts, agreements, waivers and more, corporate law, and trademark registration. My office is a sole member Law firm therefore, I Take pride in giving every client my direct attention and focus. I focus on getting the job done fast while maintaining high standards.

David B. on ContractsCounsel
View David
Member Since:
April 1, 2021
Samantha B. on ContractsCounsel
View Samantha
Member Since:
April 15, 2021

Samantha B.

Principal and Founder
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Chicago
9 Yrs Experience
Licensed in FL, IL
Ave Maria School of Law

Samantha has focused her career on developing and implementing customized compliance programs for SEC, CFTC, and FINRA regulated organizations. She has worked with over 100 investment advisers, alternative asset managers (private equity funds, hedge funds, real estate funds, venture capital funds, etc.), and broker-dealers, with assets under management ranging from several hundred million to several billion dollars. Samantha has held roles such as Chief Compliance Officer and Interim Chief Compliance Officer for SEC-registered investment advisory firms, “Of Counsel” for law firms, and has worked for various securities compliance consulting firms. Samantha founded Coast to Coast Compliance to make a meaningful impact on clients’ businesses overall, by enhancing or otherwise creating an exceptional and customized compliance program and cultivating a strong culture of compliance. Coast to Coast Compliance provides proactive, comprehensive, and independent compliance solutions, focusing primarily on project-based deliverables and various ongoing compliance pain points for investment advisers, broker-dealers, and other financial services firms.

Find the best lawyer for your project

Browse Lawyers Now

Want to speak to someone?

Get in touch below and we will schedule a time to connect!

Request a call