A Helpful Guide to Reviewing Vendor Contracts

Clients Rate Lawyers on our Platform 4.9/5 Stars
based on 2,253 reviews

Need help with a legal contract?

CREATE A FREE PROJECT POSTING
Post Project Now

What are vendor contracts?

Vendor contracts govern relationships between a business and its vendors. They are an important contract to any business and is best practices to have a process in place on how to effectively onboard new vendors, which should involve proper contracting. While young businesses may not use many vendors, they may be very reliant on a small set which makes these contracts important. More mature businesses may use hundreds or even thousands of vendors, so creating effective contracts to govern these relationships will lead to less problems and costs down the road.

Below are some key elements of a vendor contract broken down. Note, other elements may be important based on your industry or type of service you are purchasing. These are common elements that are important to understand.

Goods and Services: What are you buying?

This section outlines exactly what goods and services the vendor will provide under the contract. It is important to be specific in this section so there are no miscommunications that may lead to a dispute down the road.

Pricing and Payment Terms: How much and how do I pay?

This section outlines the pricing for the outlined goods and services being provided, as well as obligations around payment. These are often seen as ‘business’ decisions, but make sure the pricing is in line with what was negotiated and that the payment terms will work with your accounting process. Things to look out for include how payments are to be made, when they are due, and what penalties exist for late payments.

Term and Termination: How long and how do I get out?

This section outlines how long the contract will be effective and how the parties will get out of the contract. It is important to understand both of these items specifically, as there may be penalties in place for ending contracts early. This should be negotiated to protect the interest of the business.

Confidentiality and Proprietary Information: What happens to my confidential information?

Often an NDA has been put in place for negotiation prior to reviewing a vendor contract. However, a vendor agreement should have a section that protects your sensitive and confidential information that may be shared with the vendor. In most circumstances, it should forbid sharing this information with third parties or using it for other purposes.

Limitation of Liability: What is a vendor on the hook for if something goes wrong?

This section essentially outlines the ‘limitation’ of recovering damages from the vendor, should there be a breach of contract or dispute in the future. It is in the vendors best interest to limit this as much as possible, so they will typically want to limit this to the cost of the products or services they provide. Businesses should analyze should review the risk level and impact of the good or service on their business, and negotiate a reasonable limitation of liability in case something goes severely wrong, which could include things such as fraud or gross negligence. Note, vendors will typically not accept an unlimited amount of liability.

Indemnification: Will the parties be covered if something goes wrong?

This clause outlines the obligations for the party or parties to cover losses if one of the parties does something that causes harm or causes a third party to sue you. In other words, it will specify under what conditions one party must compensate the other party for unintentional harms, claims, or other liability. These are common clauses in vendor agreements. These clauses should be reasonable, clear, and balanced on both sides.

Breaches and Dispute Resolution: What happens if someone breaches the contract?

This element outlines what happens if either party decides to break the terms of the contract and how the dispute will be resolved. For instance, a contract may outline the dispute resolution will be through Arbitration or handled in a particular jurisdiction. It is important to review this clause and plan for the worst case scenario.

As mentioned earlier, there are other elements to vendor contracts that may be considered which are often dependent on industry and service. As always, if you have any questions or need advice on vendor contracts, please speak to a lawyer!

How ContractsCounsel Works
Hiring a lawyer on ContractsCounsel is easy, transparent and affordable.
1. Post a Free Project
Complete our 4-step process to provide info on what you need done.
2. Get Bids to Review
Receive flat-fee bids from lawyers in our marketplace to compare.
3. Start Your Project
Securely pay to start working with the lawyer you select.

Meet some of our Lawyers

View Nicholas
Member Since:
February 28, 2022

Nicholas V.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Denver, CO
4 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CO, NY, TX
Texas A&M University School of Law

I am a solo practitioner with offices in Denver, Colorado and Austin, Texas with a focus on general business and real estate contracts.

View Kelvin
Member Since:
February 25, 2022

Kelvin R.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Dallas, TX
25 Yrs Experience
Licensed in TX
Tulane Law School

Experienced business and contract lawyer. Our firm specializes in commercial litigation and dispute resolution.

View Jessee
Member Since:
March 14, 2022

Jessee B.

Attorney | Creative at Law
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Tennessee
9 Yrs Experience
Licensed in TN
The University of Memphis—Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law | Juris Doctor, Law)

Whether you're thinking of starting your own business and not sure how to bring your vision to life, or you're a business owner, creative professional, creator, influencer, artist, musician, startup, nonprofit, or entrepreneur who wants to grow your business and protect your content and brand—I can help. Get experienced legal counsel, quality representation, and creative solutions customized to fit your unique needs. Services include: entity formation, business issues, planning, financing, and strategy; contract drafting, review, and negotiation; intellectual property protection; copyright and trademark filing; startup and nonprofit setup and guidance; real estate matters; property purchase, sale, and leasing; assistance with legal issues related to content creation, branding, design, writing, film, music, art, entertainment, social media, e-commerce, marketing, advertising, data and privacy compliance, and more. Questions? Let's work together. Reach out and say hello.

View Doug
Member Since:
March 4, 2022

Doug S.

Co-Managing Member
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Dallas, TX
24 Yrs Experience
Licensed in TX
Southern Methodist University School of Law

I am an experienced A/V rated attorney. I have practiced for over twenty years in the areas of bankruptcy and creditors' rights, receiverships, and commercial litigation. I am a Credentialed Distinguished mediator (by the Texas Mediator Credentialing Association) and arbitrator and have been an active dispute resolution professional for sixteen years. I am an EMDR Trained Licensed Professional Counselor, with emphases on trauma and professionals dealing with stress.I am an experienced A/V rated attorney. I have practiced for over twenty years in the areas of bankruptcy and creditors' rights, receiverships, and commercial litigation. I am a Credentialed Distinguished mediator (by the Texas Mediator Credentialing Association) and arbitrator and have been an active dispute resolution professional for sixteen years. I am an EMDR Trained Licensed Professional Counselor, with emphases on trauma and professionals dealing with stress.

View Stephanie
Member Since:
March 8, 2022

Stephanie C.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Niceville, FL
2 Yrs Experience
Licensed in AL
Southern University Law Center

Alabama Licensed Attorney offering Freelance Services for Wills, Trusts, Probate, Family Law Documents, Criminal Matters, and Real Estate Closings.

View Benjamin
Member Since:
March 10, 2022

Benjamin V.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Colorado
3 Yrs Experience
Licensed in CO
Columbus School of Law, Catholic University of America

My practice involves counseling businesses and individuals on a variety of contracts, such as business formation, technology/IP, real estate, leases, and even domestic relations agreements. Much of my practice is dedicated to litigation. As such, I approach contract and transactional work from a litigation perspective by advising clients of the risks involved in failing to develop proper contracts. It takes more than knowledge of the law to be a good lawyer. A good lawyer is honest and forthcoming with clients and has a counseling ethos. And, to me, a good lawyer stands in the shoes of the client when considering how to best serve that client. Whether my client is a business or an individual, I am passionate about helping my clients understand their rights, responsibilities, risks, and possibilities.

View David
Member Since:
March 10, 2022

David H.

Technology Contract Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Fort Wayne, Indiana
11 Yrs Experience
Licensed in MI
Western Michigan University - Thomas M Cooley Law School

Michigan licensed attorney. A compelling combination of technology, sourcing, sales, and legal experience. Over 20 years in technology positions negotiating technology engagements and contracts. General practice legal experience. Significant IT contracts experience (from IT sourcing/procurement) with the State of Michigan and Zimmer Biomet (Fortune 500). Excellent people, negotiation, and writing skills; keen eye for continuous improvement. Trusted business partner co-leading or supporting cross-functional integrated business/IT projects.

View Michael
Member Since:
March 17, 2022

Michael C.

Managing Member
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Remote
11 Yrs Experience
Licensed in NY, TX
Wake Forest University School of Law

A seasoned senior executive with experience leading the legal and compliance functions of healthcare entities through high-growth periods. I have experience managing voluminous litigation caseloads, while also handling all pre-litigation investigations for employment, healthcare regulatory, and compliance matters. Similarly, I have led multiple M&A teams through purchase and sale processes, including diligence and contract negotiations. Finally, I have extensive contract review experience in all matters, including debt and equity financing, healthcare payor contracting, vendor and employment agreements, as well as service and procurement agreements.

View Rebecca
Member Since:
March 16, 2022

Rebecca R.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
St. Petersburg, FL/Nashville, TN
21 Yrs Experience
Licensed in TN
University of Tennessee College of Law

An experienced commercial contracts attorney with sales, leasing, NDA, SEC compliance, corporate governance, commercial real estate, and employment experience. Also well versed in internal and external policy document and manual creation.

View Joann
Member Since:
March 23, 2022

Joann H.

Attorney at Law
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Miami
22 Yrs Experience
Licensed in FL, NY
University of Buffalo School of Law; SUNY at Buffalo School of Law

I practiced law for the past 22 years in Immigration, Bankruptcy, Foreclosure, Civil Litigation, and Estate Planning. I am interested in downsizing to a more workable schedule to allow the pursuit of other interests.

View Gregory
Member Since:
March 23, 2022

Gregory F.

Attorney
Free Consultation
Get Free Proposal
Atlanta, Georgia
24 Yrs Experience
Licensed in GA, NY
University of Pennsylvania

Greg Fidlon has been practicing exclusively in employment law since 1998. He represents and advises clients in all aspects of the employment relationship. In addition to his litigation work, Greg regularly negotiates and drafts corporate policy handbooks, employment contracts, separation agreements and restrictive covenants. He also develops and presents training programs and has spoken and written extensively on labor and employment law topics.

Find the best lawyer for your project

Browse Lawyers Now

Want to speak to someone?

Get in touch below and we will schedule a time to connect!

Request a call