State Labor Laws
Jump to Section
Introduction to Colorado Labor Laws
Colorado labor laws address breaks, overtime, wage, hours, child labor, at-will, and leave rules.
See this web page to learn more about Colorado’s Division of Labor Standards and Statistics (DLSS).
Colorado Break Laws
Colorado break laws address breaks during the day and hours allowed to work.
Breaks During Day
Colorado employers must offer employees a 10-minute, paid rest break for every 4 hours worked.
Hours Allowed to Work
Employees in Colorado must work 4 hours before receiving a rest break and 5 hours before receiving a meal break.
Colorado Overtime Laws
Colorado overtime laws provide non-salaried employees with overtime at a rate of 1.5 times the regular rate for each hour over a 40-hour workweek.
Colorado Wage and Hour Laws
Colorado wage and hour laws address minimum wage, overtime pay, unpaid wages, and how many hours an employee may work in a day.
Colorado’s minimum wage is $12.32 per hour.
Colorado overtime pay is paid at a rate of 1.5 times the regular rate. Salaried employees don’t receive overtime pay.
Unpaid wages in Colorado open employers up to civil damages after the resignation or termination of an employee.
Hours in Day
Colorado employees may work up to 12 hours a day before they start receiving overtime pay. Overtime in Colorado is compensated at 1.5 times the regular rate.
Here’s an article that outlines 10 Colorado employee rights to know.
Colorado Child Labor Laws
Colorado child labor laws offer protections for minors, including maximum hours and scheduling. Children as young as 14 may work in the state with restrictions.
Colorado recognizes an at-will employment legal doctrine. Employers may terminate employees for any reason without notice. Conversely, employees may resign from a company for any reason without notice.
Colorado Leave Laws
Colorado leave laws address annual leave, bereavement leave, holidays, sick leave, and paid time off: Laws may vary according to city or county.
Colorado doesn’t require employers to provide annual leave. However, federal rules may allow for some annual leave in case of illness.
Colorado bereavement leave isn’t a required employer offering. However, they may offer it unpaid to employees dealing with a death in the family caused by COVID-19, as an example.
Holiday leave in Colorado isn’t required in state rules or state statutes. Employers may offer it as a benefit if they choose.
Colorado sick leave is given to employees working for employers with more than 16 workers. Employees in Colorado may accrue up to 48 hours of paid leave each year.
Paid Time Off
Paid time off in Colorado is a benefit that employers may offer. However, they’re not obligated to do so unless mandated at the state or federal levels.
Colorado Specific Labor Laws
Other las apply to working in Colorado. Colorado employment lawyers can provide legal advice if you have questions regarding Colorado-specific labor laws.
For more information about Colorado-specific labor laws, read this web page.
Meet some of our Employment Lawyers
July 22, 2020
July 25, 2020
July 21, 2020
July 21, 2020
July 25, 2020
July 24, 2020